The reigning Heineken Cup champions London Wasps take on the 2006 winners Munster in the clash of the heavyweights in the pool of death.

This is the third European meeting between the sides with either side winning one match each.

Wasps are unbeaten at home in their eight matches and beat the Irish outfit in the 2003 semi-final 37-32 at Lansdowne Road.

After beating Biarritz 23-19 at the Millennium Stadium in 2006, Munster crashed out at last season’s quarter-final stage when Llanelli Scarlets won 24-15.

Ronan O’Gara will lead Munster in their opening Heineken Cup match against London Wasps on Saturday.

The leading Heineken Cup points scorer was named in a 25 strong Munster squad after training today at the UL Sports Bowl that also includes Anthony Horgan returning from injury, and Shaun Payne.

Denis Hurley who impressed at full-back last weekend against Edinburgh is also in the squad as is the latest addition to the squad, New Zealander Jake Paringatai.

The notable absentee is Paul O’Connell who is still hindered by a back disc problem.

Munster coach Declan Kidney is not expected to name his starting XV until Friday lunchtime.

Munster: M Horan, F Pucciariello, J Hayes, T Buckley, J Flannery, F Sheahan, D O’Callaghan, M O’Driscoll, A Quinlan, D Wallace, J Paringatai, A Foley, D Leamy, P Stringer, T O’Leary, R O’Gara capt, P Warwick, A Horgan, I Dowling, B Carney, R Tipoki, L Mafi, K Lewis, S Payne, D Hurley.