The current Guinness Premiership and EDF Energy Cup winners and last season’s Heineken Cup finalists Leicester Tigers face a tough trip first up to Dublin.

Brian O’Driscoll and co will be hoping to go better than their three previous best semi-final appearances but face the two-time Heineken Cup champions Leicester.

This is the eighth meeting between the sides in this competition with the Tigers shading the previous contests four-three.

The last encounter came in Dublin when the Tigers won 29-13 in the 2005 quarter-final before failing in the semi-final against Pool opponents Toulouse.

The Leinster squad to face Leicester Tigers in Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 6 clash at the RDS has been named (KO: 1.30pm).

Felipe Contepomi returns to the squad and could be in line for his first appearance of the season when the squad is trimmed down to a starting 22 on Friday lunchtime.  

Contepomi returned to training earlier in the week and has been named in the squad alongside the likes of skipper Brian O’Driscoll as well as fellow Ireland internationals Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Luke Fitzgerald, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip, Shane Horgan, Bernard Jackman, Rob Kearney and Malcolm O’Kelly.

The extended squad also includes two more Ireland internationals – former Tigers duo Leo Cullen and Shane Jennings. Chris Whitaker and Ollie le Roux – who have both been in fine recent form – are also included alongside prop Stephen Knoop who missed last weekend’s game through injury.

There are still a small number of tickets available for Saturday’s game from as well as from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook) and Spar (Donnybrook).

Supporters are advised to arrive early on Saturday as there will be a lot of activity around the RDS all day. The RDS Showground is serviced by bus routes number 7, 5 and 45, which stop outside the Main Hall Entrance to the RDS on Merrion Road. These bus services can be availed of on Nassau Street outside Trinity College. Dublin DART (Dublin Area Rapid Transport) service also operates from the City Centre to Ballsbridge. Travel southbound to Lansdowne Road or Sandymount stations.